The Thomas Randolph Thomasson Chapter is a member of the General Henry D. Clayton District of the Alabama UDC.  Other member Chapters are Gen. William C. Oates 1342, Dothan; Gen. Edmond Winchester Rucker 2534, Enterprise; Capt. Stouten Hubert Dent 2669, Eufaula; and Stonewall Jackson 667, Ozark.

General Henry D. Clayton

Henry DeLamar Clayton, Sr., was a prominent Alabama attorney, judge, politician, and college president.  Although born in Georgia on March 7, 1827, he moved to Eufaula after college graduation and was admitted to the bar in 1849.  He served in the Alabama Legislature from 1857-1861 where he was serving as chairman of the military committee at the outbreak of the War.  He was sent by the governor to Pensacola to receive the Alabama units as they arrived.  He organized the First Alabama Infantry and was elected Colonel.  After his one-year enlistment ended, he organized the 39th Alabama and served as its first colonel.  At Murfreesboro he was severely wounded in the right shoulder after which he was promoted to brigadier general and led his brigade at Chicamauga.  He was known as one of the foremost “fighting generals” of the western army.  He was several times wounded and at Jonesboro had three horses killed under him.

After the War, Clayton resumed his law practice, and in 1866 he was elected judge of the 8th district.  He was deposed by the federal government but was elected again in 1874 and 1880.  After an unsuccessful bid for governor, he was appointed president of The University of Alabama in June 1866.  He died on October 13, 1888, and is buried in the Fairview Cemetery in Eufaula, Alabama.